CHARLOTTE | Selfmade Liberty London Dress

charlotte from sistersofstyle wearing a dress that she made from liberty fabric, teamed with a navy zara blazer and vintage beltcharlotte from sistersofstyle wearing a dress that she made from liberty fabric, teamed with a navy zara blazer and vintage beltcharlotte from sistersofstyle wearing a dress that she made from liberty fabric, teamed with a navy zara blazer and vintage beltcharlotte from sistersofstyle wearing a dress that she made from liberty fabric, teamed with a navy zara blazer and vintage beltcharlotte from sistersofstyle wearing a dress that she made from liberty fabric, teamed with a navy zara blazer and vintage beltcharlotte from sistersofstyle wearing a dress that she made from liberty fabric, teamed with a navy zara blazer and vintage beltcharlotte from sistersofstyle wearing a dress that she made from liberty fabric, teamed with a navy zara blazer and vintage beltcharlotte from sistersofstyle wearing a dress that she made from liberty fabric, teamed with a navy zara blazer and vintage beltwearing: handmade liberty london dress, vintage belt, zara blazer, bvlgari sunglasses, east clutch, pura lopez shoes

At the weekend I watched one of my best friends wed in a beautiful, rustic, English countryside wedding. Mr & Mrs. Goddard really are a beautiful couple and I felt so honoured to share their special day with them. I made my dress. I was really struggling to find something that I loved enough to warrant spending my monies on, because either the sleeve wasn’t quite right, or the fabric was polyester, or, or, or…. I can be a tough person to please, especially when it comes to clothes. So I thought, “I can sew”. I did after all do my degree in it. So, whilst I was shopping last week (looking for a dress again, hoping that something new would pop out of the stores I had already trawled through) I found myself wondering down Berwick Street (in London.) Now this street was my old stomping ground when I was studying, a street full of Aladdin cave type fabric shops. Whilst wondering I discovered a gorgeous new fabric store, was only in there for 10 minutes when I found myself purring over this gorgeous printed Liberty London fabric. For those of you who don’t know Liberty fabrics; they originate from the famous Liberty department store in London, and are be-a-u-tiful. They’re an iconic English print. My print was a modern print from the fashion house, but still, I was completely smitten. Next step was buying a pattern that I liked, adding sleeves to the pattern and tailoring it to fit me. Accessorised it up with a belt worn backwards, a monstrous turquoise ring,  Natasha’s Zara blazer, a glitzy East clutch and kept it simple on my feet with these Pura Lopez nude peep-toed heels. I also love how Jonathan and I wore kind of matching blue blazers. When you make something it feels so nice, not only because it fits so well but there is a huge element of pride and individuality.

Charlotte xo

4 thoughts on “CHARLOTTE | Selfmade Liberty London Dress

Leave a Reply

